Primary Sector Council membership

| Photo | Name | Biography |
|-----------------|--------------------|--|
| | Lain Jager (Chair) | Lain is ex-Chief Executive of Zespri. He previously held roles in human resources, grower relations and corporate strategy. |
| | John Brakenridge | John is Chairman of the New Zealand Merino Company Ltd and is the founder of the Te Hono Bootcamp Initiative. He is currently on the board of Landcorp Farming Ltd. |
| | Tony Egan | Tony is Managing Director of Greenlea Premier Meats Ltd and Chairman of the Agricultural and Marketing Research and Development Trust. |
| | Stephanie Howard | Stephanie is Projects Director at the Sustainability Council NZ. Her current research is on new genetic modification techniques and the governance of nanotechnologies. |
| | Julia Jones | Julia is a farm enterprise specialist at KPMG. |
| | Mark Paine | Mark is the Strategy and Investment Leader for People and Business at DairyNZ. Prior to this, he was the Dairy Australia Principal Research Fellow at the University of Melbourne. |
| HC New Gr | Julian Raine | Julian is the President and Chairman of Directors on the Horticulture NZ Board. |

| Neil Richardson | Neil is a chair and director on various boards, including the Foundation for Research, Science and Technology and Seales Winslow Ltd. He has consulting experience across a number of sectors, including agribusiness, transportation and distribution. |
|------------------|---|
| John Rodwell | John is the Executive Director of Lindis Crossing Station, Kintore Farm Ltd, a Director of Landcare Research NZ Ltd and has a background in finance. |
| Steve Saunders | Steve is the owner, founder and Managing Director of Plus Group companies and is the co-founder of Newnham Park Horticulture Innovation Centre. |
| Steve Smith | Steve is the founder and owner of Smith & Co and has extensive experience in the wine industry. He also runs LandbaseNZ, a consulting company. |
| Miriana Stephens | Miriana is a Director of Wakatu Incorporation. She also runs Aotahi (which develops and manages educational programmes) and is a trustee on Te Āwhina marae. |
| Nadine Tunley | Nadine is the Chief Executive of Watson & Son and Managing Director of Energie Produce. Until recently, she was the Chair of Pipfruit NZ. |
| Puawai Wereta | Puawai is General Manager, Sustainability and Innovation, at Tuaropaki Trust, where she is involved in a range of primary sector projects. The trust administers Tuaropaki land north of Taupo. |

The Primary Sector Council also includes the following observers:

| | Shanna Hickling | Shanna is the 2017 Young Horticulturist of the Year and is the R&D Manager at Linnaeus Laboratory in Gisborne. |
|---------|------------------|--|
| DA aven | Hayley Hoogendyk | Hayley is the 2017 New Zealand Dairy Manager of the Year and is a dairy farm manager in Manawatu. |
| | Nigel Woodhead | Nigel is the 2017 FMG Young Farmer of the Year. He has a sheep and beef farm in Otago. |