

Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Reviewing the Walking Access Act 2008: Release of Public Feedback Paper

Portfolio Agriculture

On 8 May 2019, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

- noted that on 30 October 2018, the Cabinet Environment, Energy and Climate Committee (ENV):
 - 1.1 noted that under section 80(1) of the Walking Access Act 2008 (the Act), the Act is due for mandatory review as soon as practicable after 30 September 2018, and that a report on the findings of the review is due to the House of Representatives by the end of September 2019;
 - 1.2 agreed to the terms of reference for the review of the Act;
 - invited the Minister of Agriculture to report back to ENV on the findings of the review before the report is submitted to the House of Representatives;

[ENV-18-MIN-0041]

- 2 **noted** that the Act covers public access to the outdoors for walking and other recreation, and contributes to the government's wellbeing agenda;
- agreed to the release of the document *Reviewing the Walking Access Act 2008: Public Feedback Paper*, attached to the submission under DEV-19-SUB-0106, subject to any minor or technical amendments that may be required;
- 4 **invited** the Minister of Agriculture and Minister for Rural Communities to report back to ENV on the findings of the review before the report is submitted to the House of Representatives in September 2019.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon Dr Megan Woods (Chair)

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon David Parker

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Iain Lees-Galloway

Hon Jenny Salesa

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Shane Jones

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Eugenie Sage

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Agriculture

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV