

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Dairy Industry Restructuring Amendment Bill (No 3) 2019: Approval for Introduction

Portfolio Agriculture

On 20 August 2019, the Cabinet Legislation Committee, having been authorised y Cabinet to have Power to Act [CAB-19-MIN-0146]:

- 1 **noted** that the Dairy Industry Restructuring Bill (N 3) 2 19 ho ds a category 2 priority on the year 2019 Legislation Programme;
- 2 **noted** that the Bill:
 - 2.1 updates Part 2, Subpart 4 of the Dary Industry Restructuring Act 2001 to recognise a change in responsibility for m nagement of the New Zealand Dairy Core Database;
 - 2.2 amends Part 2, Subparts 5 and 5A of the Dairy Industry Restructuring Act 2001 and associated regulations o provide a package of measures to maintain efficiency disciplines on Fonterra and enhance aspects of the dairy industry's performance;
- 3 **approved** the Dairy Industry Restructuring Amendment Bill (No 3) 2019 [PCO 21862/3.3] for introduction, subject to the final approval of the government caucuses and sufficient support in the Hous of R presentatives;
- 4 **agreed** that he Bill be introduced on 29 August 2019;
- 5 **agreed** that the government proposes that the Bill be:
 - 5.1 referred to the Primary Production Select Committee for consideration;
 - 5.2 enacted by March 2020.

Vivien Meek Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

LEG-19-MIN-0117

Present:

Hon Andrew Little Hon Stuart Nash Hon Iain Lees-Galloway (Chair) Hon Jenny Salesa Hon Damien O'Connor Hon Ron Mark Hon Tracey Martin Hon Julie Anne Genter Michael Wood MP (Senior Government Whip)

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Agriculture

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG